Connection Blog #5

About the Romantics’ Pantheism and Kierkegaard’s Individualism: I don’t think I could ever choose between the two. I tend to prefer Individualism because I am a perfectionist, I like details, I cure them whenever I do or make something, I always look for small clues and hidden stories about everything because I am very much a curious observer and listener. However, I do it so I can see the whole picture in a more complete way. Most of the times, as I am the quiet one, I look and listen to my friends and I am able to see and understand many things that they are not saying to me, and thanks to little details like an instant reaction to something I say or a certain look I am able to emphasize with them and interact with them in the best way possible from that moment on.

Furthermore, I tend to agree with Kierkegaard’s point of view on each man’s existence: we relate to our own existence only when we act and make significant choices. Making significant choices is definitely what I wish I could do on a daily basis. Actually, I’d probably be very stressed all the time if it happened. I know I am able to procrastinate taking a stand and decide on any matter until the last minute (which is usually what I do), but eventually, this would help me refine my life. On the other hand, our own personal existence cannot be the only important thing in our life, our society should be. There is no path to improvement without a supporting and healthy society. We need to think more about others than we do about us, and I think some religions (or religious communities) have lost this important preconception. After all, Jesus said “It is more blessed to give than to receive”; “Give, and it will be given to you. Good measure, pressed down, shaken together, running over, will be put into your lap. For with the measure you use it will be measured back to you.”

Leave a Reply

